Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

OCR National qualifications explained

ocr nationalWondering how studying an OCR National can get you the qualifications you need for your career? Read on to find out more.

Who are they for?

OCR Nationals are vocational qualifications, which are designed to teach practical workplace skills. There are three levels, with different awards in each: Levels 1 and 2, which are designed for students aged 14 and over, and Level 3 for students aged 16 and over. However, older learners can also study OCR Nationals.

Where are they taught?

You can study OCR Nationals in over 3,000 schools and colleges in the UK. OCR Nationals are assessed entirely on the work you do in class, which means there are no exams. OCR Nationals are graded as either a ‘Pass’, ‘Merit’ or ‘Distinction’.

What can I study?

You can study OCR Nationals in the following areas:

  • Art and Design
  • Business
  • Health and Social Care
  • ICT
  • Leisure, Travel and Tourism
  • Media
  • Public Services
  • Science
  • Sport

How long do they take to study?

The length of time it takes to study an OCR National depends on the level and award:

Level 1

  • First Award - 120 hours
  • Award - 240 hours
  • Certificate - 360 hours

Level 2

  • Award - 240 hours
  • Certificate - 360 hours

(*there are four awards at Level 2 for ICT only)

Level 3

  • Certificate - 360 hours
  • Diploma - 720 hours
  • Extended Diploma - 1080 hours

Where can they lead?

Studying OCR Nationals can be worth up to 4 GCSE grades A* to C at Level 2. OCR Nationals are also recognised by UCAS at Level 3, so studying them can help you get into university. A Level 3 Certificate ‘Pass’ is worth one A-level grade E – or 40 UCAS points – ranging up to a Level 3 Extended Diploma, which is worth 3 A-level grade As, or 360 UCAS points.

Related links